+32 (2) 230.86.22 ucesm@ucesm.net

General Assembly 2018

The 18th General Assembly of UCESM took place on 5-10 March 2018 in Snagov (Romania)

On Saturday 10 March 2018, the 18th General Assembly of UCESM which was held in the Monastery of the Carmelites of Snagov, Ciofliceni, Romania, took an end. Some 90 delegates from almost all European Conferences, as well as representatives of UISG, USG and CCEE, gathered under the theme “Widen the space of your tent” (Isaiah 54:2).

The meeting of the presidents, vice-presidents and secretaries-general of the national Conferences of religious takes place every two years alternately in a country of Eastern and of Western Europe, preferably in a place of pilgrimage (Fatima, Czestochowa, Lourdes, Tirana). UCESM has been set up to allow the European Conferences to meet and this question repeatedly came forward during the debates: why does UCESM exist? Do the Conferences really need UCESM?

The theme brought together 34 Conferences of 27 countries: it was about migration and religious life. “Widen the space of your tent”, a quote from Isaiah 54:2, challenged the participants on their liability in the issue of the refugees, but also on the internationalization of religious institutes, new evangelization and the cooperation between them and with the bishops. The speakers addressed the theme from different perspectives.

Father Lucian Bobarnac ofm outlined a Franciscan project for the training and support of Roma people in the north of Romania. Fr. José García sj spoke about the Jesuit Refugee Service, founded in 1980, that brings aid to migrants by being at their service or simply by being there. Sister Cécile Renouard, Assumption sister at the head of a research group on ecology at the Paris University, linked our life with “Laudato Sì”. All underlined that the cry of the poor and the cry of the earth are not separated from each other. Sister Adina Balan cj of Romania, member of RENATE (European network of religious against trafficking), told about the horrible situations of – especially – women and children who are victims of trafficking. Brother Alois of Taizé developed the theme of integration in ecumenism.

Coming from Rome, Archbishop José Carballo joined the participants and enthusiastically made a lengthy presentation about the importance of religious life in Europe, based on the guidelines for the administration of property recently translated into several languages.

The President and the Secretary General of UISG, Sister Carmen Sammut and Sister Patricia Murray, reported about the project for refugees in Lampedusa/Sicily. Fr. Felix Mushobozi of USG presented the project of the Marist brothers and the Salesians for Syrian refugees in Lebanon.

As the days went by, it appeared that our tents inside are obviously larger than they seem to be from the outside.

The richness of religious life in Europe revealed itself by its opening to different cultures, each with its own directions. The purpose of UCESM is to exist. It facilitates meetings between the Conferences in Europe, it can – if the wish comes up – form working groups of national Conferences and address topics that are important to all. UCESM has a small office in Brussels, with the Dutch Sister Marjolein Bruinen (Dominican Sisters of Bethany) as a Secretary General and Mrs. Nicole Jacqué as the Executive Secretary. Members are 39 Conferences from 28 countries representing about 230 000 religious.

On the last day the election of the new president took place. The Piarist Father Zsolt Labancz (43), President of the Hungarian Conference, will bring the mandate of Fr. Giovanni Peragine, who was appointed Bishop in Southern Albania last August, to an end. Sister Danièle Faltz (dcn) of Luxembourg remains Vice-President. There will be new elections in 2020.

The 18th Assembly of UCESM was organized on site by the two Conferences of Romania (men and women): they had invited the Romanian poet and political figure Ana Blandiana to an interesting evening lecture followed by a debate with the participants. Leaders of the Romanian Church came to celebrate or concelebrate the Eucharists, with Archbishop Ioan Robu from Bucharest, the Greek-Catholic Bishop Mihai Fratila and Bishop Florentin Crihalmeanu from the Eparchy of Cluj-Gherla. The facilitator was Sister Denise Boyle from Ireland, day-to-day work was in the hands of Sister Marjolein and Ms. Nicole. There is still uncertainty about the venue of the next General Assembly, the 19th: Malta, Ukraine and Germany are candidates.

The final message of UCESM addresses all men and women religious in Europe and wishes to convey encouragement and inspiration to better face the issues of migrants and refugees.

+32 (2) 230.86.22 ucesm@ucesm.net

Assemblée Générale 2018

La 18e Assemblée Générale de l’UCESM a eu lieu du 5 au 10 mars 2018 à Snagov (Roumanie)

C’est le samedi 10 mars 2018 que s’est terminée la 18e Assemblée générale de l’UCESM au Monastère des Carmes de Snagov, Ciofliceni, Roumanie. Quelque 90 délégués de presque toutes les Conférences européennes, ainsi que des représentants de l’UISG, de l’USG, du CCEE, étaient réunis sous le thème «Élargis l’espace de ta tente» (Isaïe 54,2).

La rencontre des présidents, vice-présidents et secrétaires généraux des Conférences nationales des religieux est organisée tous les deux ans alternativement dans un pays de l’est et de l’ouest de l’Europe, de préférence dans un lieu de pèlerinage (Fatima, Częstochowa, Lourdes, Tirana). L’UCESM a été établie pour donner aux Conférences européennes la possibilité de se rencontrer et cet élément est apparu à plusieurs reprises dans les débats: pourquoi l’UCESM existe-t-elle? Les Conférences ont-elles réellement besoin de l’UCESM?

Le thème a réuni 34 Conférences de 27 pays: il s’agissait de migration et vie religieuse. «Élargis l’espace de ta tente», une citation d’Isaïe 54,2, a interpellé les participants sur leur responsabilité dans la problématique des réfugiés, mais aussi sur l’internationalisation des instituts religieux, la nouvelle évangélisation et la coopération entre eux et avec les évêques. Les conférenciers ont abordé le thème de différents points de vue.

Le Père Lucian Bobarnac ofm a présenté un projet franciscain pour la formation et le soutien des Roms dans le nord de la Roumanie. Le P. José García sj a parlé du Jesuit Refugee Service, fondé en 1980, qui apporte son aide aux migrants en étant à leur service, ou simplement en étant là. Sœur Cécile Renouard, assomptionniste à la tête d’un groupe de recherche sur l’écologie à l’Université de Paris, a mis en relation notre vie avec « Laudato Si ».  Tous ont souligné que le cri des pauvres et le cri de la terre ne sont pas séparés l’un de l’autre. Sœur Adina Balan cj de Roumanie, membre de RENATE (réseau européen des religieux contre la traite des êtres humains), a relaté les situations horribles que vivent – surtout – les femmes et les enfants victimes de la traite des êtres humains. Frère Alois de Taizé a développé le thème de l’intégration dans l’œcuménisme.

De Rome, Mgr. José Carballo a rejoint les participants et les a longuement enrichis par un discours enthousiaste sur l’importance de la vie religieuse en Europe, basé sur les directives pour l’administration des biens récemment traduites en plusieurs langues. La Présidente et la Secrétaire Générale de l’UISG, Sœur Carmen Sammut et Sœur Patricia Murray, ont évoqué le projet pour les réfugiés à Lampedusa/Sicile. Le Père Felix Mushobozi de l’USG a parlé du projet des frères maristes et des salésiens pour les réfugiés syriens au Liban.

Au fil des jours, il est apparu que nos tentes à l’intérieur sont clairement plus vastes qu’elles n’en ont l’air de l’extérieur.

La richesse de la vie religieuse en Europe s’est révélée par l’ouverture à des cultures différentes, chacune avec ses propres orientations. La raison d’être de l’UCESM est d’exister. Elle facilite les rencontres entre les Conférences en Europe, elle peut – si le souhait se manifeste – former des groupes de travail des Conférences nationales et aborder des thèmes qui sont importants pour tous. L’UCESM a un petit bureau à Bruxelles, avec Sœur Marjolein Bruinen (Dominicaines de Béthanie) des Pays-Bas comme Secrétaire Générale et Mme Nicole Jacqué comme Secrétaire exécutive. Les membres des Conférences sont au nombre de 39 provenant de 28 pays et représentent quelque 230 000 religieux.

La dernière journée a vu l’élection du nouveau président. Le Père piariste Zsolt Labancz (43), Président de la Conférence hongroise, termine ainsi le mandat du P. Giovanni Peragine, qui a été nommé évêque dans le sud de l’Albanie en août dernier. Sœur Danièle Faltz (dcn) de Luxembourg reste Vice-Présidente. Il y aura de nouvelles élections en 2020.

La 18ème Assemblée de UCESM a été organisée sur place par les deux Conférences de Roumanie (hommes et femmes): elles avaient invité la poétesse et militante roumaine Ana Blandiana à une intéressante conférence suivie d’une discussion en soirée avec les participants. Des chefs de l’Eglise roumaine sont venus célébrer ou concélébrer les célébrations eucharistiques, notamment Mgr. Ioan Robu, archevêque métropolite de Bucarest, l’évêque gréco-catholique Mgr. Mihai Fratila et l’éparque de Cluj-Gherla, Mgr. Florentin Crihalmeanu. La modératrice était Sœur Denise Boyle d’Irlande, le travail quotidien était entre les mains de Sœur Marjolein et Mme Nicole. Il existe encore des incertitudes quant au lieu de la prochaine Assemblée Générale, la 19e: Malte, l’Ukraine et l’Allemagne sont candidates.

Le message final de l’UCESM s’adresse à tous les religieux en Europe et souhaite transmettre des encouragements et de l’inspiration pour affronter encore mieux les problèmes des migrants et des réfugiés.